Playwriting

Monologue

Playwriting Exercises - CREATIVE CUP OF TEA

After the workshop on voice, Professor Musgrave wanted us to write a monologue based on the character we had started to create in the workshop about characterisation. Pieces are starting to come together, and we are beginning to create characters, voices and stories. This is the monologue that I wrote. Professor Musgrave wanted us to “perform” it in class, but I wasn’t very good – I hadn’t printed it out, so I needed to read it from my cellphone and I didn’t manage to do it very well. Also, I think that my monologue didn’t work out too well because it was supposed to be a monologue with an audience.  I came to this conclusion because Professor Musgrave made us perform our monologues and as I had one of my classmates in front of me while I was reading the monologue, I felt like I needed another person before me. So I need to make it more realistic. This is a small part of it:

Actually, I was really looking forward to a wedding. I couldn’t wait to get drunk and disruptive and go about ruining everything just as it happens in those shitty American comedies. To harass someone, to offend some of the bride’s relatives. Or to go and say something very embarassing about you, just to spite you. Like the fact that you put your slimy tongue in your cousin’s mouth.

This exercise was helpful, especially staging and performing the monologues in class. Keith, for example, stood up. He memorised his monologue and he performed it brilliantly: it felt like something was happening inside him as he spoke those words, like he was recalling the monologue and was telling a story. Acting is very much based on storytelling. I like how Rob’s character was raging himself up. Amanda’s monologue had a problem similar to mine – her character is insulting someone for a long time, but it is not clear what the action and the reaction are. If you write a monologue with an audience, they need to give some sort of response. He told me that the audience is not really present and apparently is not reacting to the things that Cosimo is saying, that are quite strong. The difference between a monologue and a soliloquy is that the monologue needs an audience, while the soliloquy is spoken alone.

gipphy.gif

Leave a Reply

